Opening Doors – Danziger Gallery’s Inaugural Los Angeles Exhibition

Opening Doors – A Group Show
Danziger Gallery
Bergamont Station B1, Santa Monica
19 February–23 April 2022

The photographs in this show come largely from the photographic artists the gallery is privileged to work with. They have been selected for the opening of our new Los Angeles gallery not only because they celebrate the medium; but more importantly, what they have in common is that each is as unique as a fingerprint. Great photographs don’t just open a door to the worlds they capture, they open a door to the mind and idea of their creators.

After 30 years of having a gallery in New York, 2022 marks the opening of Danziger Gallery’s first space in Los Angeles. So this inaugural show in many ways has the notion of being assembled over years if not decades. Finding great pictures takes time. Content matters as does concept.  In so much as each individual gallery has a particular aesthetic that can be defined,  I hope the pictures in this show are mostly uplifting and speak for themselves.

Covering a broad stretch of the history of the medium, these pieces of paper plumb unexpected depths. In a world awash in images, these pictures invite the viewer to stop and relish the moment. They ask questions of authorship and intent. They ask the viewer who is drawn to a particular image to reflect on what it is that provokes a response. A photograph is not just a door. It is an invitation.

James Danziger.

The photographers in the show are:

Ansel Adams, Christopher Anderson, Richard Avedon, Hans Breder, Christopher Bucklow, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Thierry Cohen, Petra Cortright, Paul Cupido, André De Dienes, Robert Frank, Paul Fusco, Adam Fuss, Mario Giacomelli, Hisaji Hara, Evelyn Hofer, Seydou Keïta, Hendrik Kerstens, Karen Knorr, Jim Krantz, Michael Light, O. Winston Link, Glen Luchford, Alice Mann, Sally Mann, Pierre et Gilles, Yuji Obata, Tod Papageorge, Matthew Porter, Ulrike Rosenbach, Ian Ruhter, Alec Soth, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Risaku Suzuki, Ed Templeton, Ruud Van Empel, Corinne Vionnet, Andy Warhol , Brett Weston, Lloyd Ziff.